Founder's Award

Dave Knight, recipient of Founders Award 2016

The Founders Award, sponsored by Halsgove Publishing, is awarded in recognition of notable service to the Society.  To see the names of previous winners, please click on the document below. Nominations for the next award need to reach the Society by May 1st.

The award was presented at the 2019 Annual General Meeting to Mr Hugh Thomas in recognition of his work for the Society and contributions to Exmoor over many years.

The award was presented at the 2018 Annual General Meeting to Mrs Toni Jones in recognition of her work for the Society and her philanthropic contribution to Exmoor over many years.

The award was presented at the 2017 Annual General Meeting to Steven Pugsley in recognition of his readiness over many years to support Society events and contribute knowledgeable and entertaining talks on a wide variety of Exmoor-related subjects.

The award was presented at the 2016 Annual General Meeting to Dave Knight, Exmoor farmer. It is for his work, in particular, in bringing farmers together, first with the forward farming group under the Exmoor Hill Farm project during 2009-13 and then as Chairman of its successor organisation, Exmoor Hill Farming Network (EHFN), which still incorporates that group. The EHFN focuses on improving farm incomes, profitability and sustainable land management.

The award was presented at the 2015 Annual General Meeting to Jenny Gibson, Assistant Editor of the Exmoor Review, prolific walk leader for many years and representative of the Society in the press and media.

If you would like to nominate someone for this award, please contact us.