Take action to protect and conserve the Exmoor National Park:

How we are run

The Exmoor society is run by trustees (an executive committee).

Sir Andrew Burns KCMG

We are delighted to announce that Sir Andrew Burns was elected to be the new President of the Exmoor Society at our AGM in September 2022. Sir Andrew was a career British diplomat with senior postings both at home in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and abroad as Ambassador to Israel, Consul-General in Hong Kong and High Commissioner in Canada. A former BBC Governor, University Chair and Chair of Hestercombe gardens, he has been an Exmoor resident in Cutcombe parish for 50 years.

“It has been a tremendous pleasure to be invited to become President of the Exmoor Society and so to work closely with Kate O’Sullivan again. I was one of the earliest members of the Society back in 1958, though of the 5-shilling non-voting kind rather those who paid a guinea and had a vote. It is an honour to re-engage with the Society, one of the original founders of which was my uncle John Goodland, supported by his wife Molly Richards from Broomstreet.

For over 60 years the officers, committee members and trustees have worked tirelessly to promote the success of the National Park. Protecting the beautiful and historic landscape and improving public understanding of what makes Exmoor so unique and precious depend critically on there being a thriving local community, hill-farmers, local businesses and above all enthusiastic and committed younger generations

I shall do my best to represent the Society and support its Chair, Trustees and Members in all the excellent work and activities of the Society.” 


Ms Catherine (Kate) O’Sullivan


Dr. Keith Howe

Committee Members:

  • Mrs Arabella Amory
  • Mr Charles O’Connor
  • Ms Lisa Eden
  • Mrs Jill Edwards
  • Mrs Victoria Eveleigh
  • Mr William Gash
  • Mr Nigel Hester
  • Mrs Anne May
  • Mr Darren Sherwood
  • Prof John Wibberley
  • Mrs Christina Williams

Vice Presidents:

  • Mr Rodney Coyne
  • Lady Elizabeth Gass DCVO JP
  • Mr Stanley Johnson
  • Mrs Toni Jones
  • Lord King of Bridgwater CH PC
  • Baroness Ann Mallalieu QC
  • Prof Sir Dieter Helm
  • Sir Stephen Waley-Cohen Bt
  • His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant David Fursdon
  • Mrs Annie Maw CBE